Showing Collections: 1 - 7 of 7
Don Amador Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2009.562
Scope and Contents
Papers of gay rights activist Don Amador of Los Angeles. Included are personal papers, papers relating to research and teaching, as well as papers relating to his political activities. Included in this collection is a book titled, Homosexual Subculture 497. It is a self published manuscript from June, 1976. It is the cumulation of 14 term papers from his first course offering of a gay studies course at California State University, Long Beach. Sociology 497 was the first of its kind. The...
Dates:
1944-1983 and undated
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Ephemera Collection
Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 1.02
Scope and Contents
The Ephemera Collection contains material primarily acquired for teaching. It includes material in various formats, most of which have been previously published. The collection is currently being processed and new items will be added on an ongoing basis. For this reason, the indicated date range is approximate at this point.
Dates:
1800-2014
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Florence Fix Scrapbook
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2009.322
Scope and Contents
Scrapbook kept by Florence H. Fix (b. 1908) of Milaca, Minnesota from her high school junior year through graduation in the spring. Scrapbook contains invitations, programs, news clippings, letters, photographs, as well as many lengthy entries written by Florence's friends reflecting on their friendship, school days and future. A commencement memory booklet contains the full names of her classmates as well as a brief, often humorous entry listing what they would like to become in life.
One...
Dates:
1925-1926
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
A. Edwin Kendrew Papers
Collection
Identifier: SC 01234
Scope and Contents
Pamphlets and brochures from Colonial Williamsburg, plus various invitations and programs for Williamsburg area events.
Dates:
1930s-1950s
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
George Sykes Letter and Ephemera
Collection
Identifier: SC 00005
Scope and Contents
This collection consists of an account of the USS Princeton disaster, handwritten by United States Congressman George Sykes and sent as a letter to his sister. The first-hand account describes the lead-up to the disaster, the explosion itself that killed six people, including the Secretary of State, President John Tyler's enslaved servant, and the father of Tyler's fiancée, and the aftermath and funeral. Also included are Sykes' official invitation to the event that led to the disastor, and...
Dates:
1844 February-March
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Williamsburg Arts Council Scrapbook
Collection — Box: 1, Bound Volume: 1
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2010.029
Scope and Contents
Scrapbook, 1967-1974 of the Williamsburg Arts Council, consisting of programs, news clippings, photographs, financial records, fliers and correspondence.
Dates:
1967-1974
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Williamsburg (Va.) Area Ephemera Collection
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 1.09
Scope and Contents
This collection covers the Greater Williamsburg Area, including Williamsburg, Yorktown, Jamestown, James City County, York County and other nearby communities. It includes gifts and purchases whose contents are ephemeral in nature and not well-suited as stand-alone collections. The items are usually transient documents of everyday life and can include menus, flyers, advertisements, and programs but can also be postcards, games, ticket stubs, and the like. The majority of...
Dates:
1858-2015
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center